WHAT!? ME LEARN A FOREIGN LANGUAGE?

Have you ever wondered what it was like learning a foreign language? I have been “tinkering” with Bahasa Indonesia for almost three years (self-study). I have become quite good at reading intermediate level Bahasa Indonesia, but still struggle with reading newspapers. Having only been in Indonesia 4 few times, and that only for brief tourism, the only way I will ever improve is if I spend a lot of time there.

For those planning on traveling to Indonesia, I don’t recommend you spending a lot of time with language studies, nor purchasing any expensive language tools. A small booklet of phrases may be helpful. That will let the nationals know that you have made an effort to learn their language, and that will impress them.

The internet has some fun interactive sites you can practice with. Here are a few language sites I have used:

Learn Bahasa Indonesia in 7 Days

Vocabulary Lessons

Hello Indonesia

