ALWAYS WRONG
What’s it like studying another language? It’s like this: every single day, for several years, you will be told you are “wrong” numerous times. It can become very demoralizing, and that is probably why some people give up. There has to be a tremendous amount of determination and incentive to acquire a new language.

Indonesian Language
There are some languages that are easier to learn than Indonesian. It can get quite complicated with all the variables on a root word. Take the root word “keras” for example. It means “hard.” But, that same word, when you add various prefixes and suffixes, it changes the meaning entirely, and if you don’t get it right, you end up communicating something you never intended.

Here are some of the ways the root word “keras” can be used:

      Mengeras–to harden
      Mengeraskan–to harden something
      Kekerasan–hardness, violence
      Keras kepala–stubborn
      Berkeras–to persist
      Pengerasan–hardening of something
    (For simplicity sake i’ll stop there, but there are other prefixes.)

GRILLED
Yesterday I finished one unit of study, and this morning I was evaluated on that unit. The evaluation lasted one hour. I was asked to read a newspaper article and then explain the content. I was asked to explain the details of an Indonesian video I was required to watch. I had to report on information I gathered from the community. I also had to give an overview of an novel I was required to read during this unit.

It can become quite discouraging if you aren’t fully engaged and have a deep interest to learn. Even though I’m a highly motivated person, it still gets discouraging when you don’t recognize the progress you are making. But, things are looking brighter… I’m starting to feel like I can at least survive with the language skills I have learned at this time, but there’s still a long way to go!

