Superior hand-made batikWHOLESALE

Superior Hand-Made Batik
WHOLESALE

This information is for those who want to buy Batik wholesale (skipping the middleman).

The below was written by Siti Hajir, the owner of the Batik production business she and her husband (Kemas Junaidi) operate from their home. We personally know Siti Hajir’s family and have visited their home many times. They’ve also visited our home on several occasions.

We highly recommend this batik business because we’ve purchased batik products from Siti Hajir on several occasions and have found their batik quality to be second to none. Siti Hajir’s sister (Ibu Dawi) is an outstanding seamstress. We know this firsthand, for she makes our shirts and dresses from the batik we buy from Siti Hajir. We’ve always found her workmanship to be outstanding, and because of that we can highly recommend her for all your tailoring needs.

Siti Hajir

Batik Production and Sales

Phone: +6281367709554

Click Here to Find the Store Location

Family of Kemas Junaidi & Siti Hajir: daughter--Icha, son--Rahmat

Family of Kemas Junaidi & Siti Hajir
Daughter–Icha (center bottom)
Son–Rahmat

The type of business I have is what we call a Home Industry which produces Jambi batik. The skill of batik production was passed down to me through multiple generations. I began working with my family in batik production in 1985 when I was in elementary school (5th grade). My parents taught me how to make batik from the first step till the last.

The batik our family made was always marketed by my mother. During the time I began learning how to make batik the price was still inexpensive, because the cloth, wax, and dyes were relatively inexpensive and easy to obtain. The quality of cloth at that time was also much better than it is now. At that time customers of batik were those in the middle to upper economic income brackets.

An employee applying a wax batik design to the already dyed cloth.

An employee applying a wax batik design to the already dyed cloth.

After my mother passed away the batik business was transferred to me and I have kept it going ever since. My business carries my name: “Siti Hajir.”

As my business expanded we were able to take on several employees to assist with the work. Now the business is managed by me and my husband, and a few others are employed to assist with the actual batik production.

My husband’s responsibilities involve the supervision of dying the cloth, as well as boiling off the wax in the later stages of the production. He also oversees the quality of the entire process.

Others that have been given responsibilities in our business are:

Kemas Junaidi removing dye from the cloth, in preparation for yet another stage in the lengthy process of batik production.

Kemas Junaidi removing dye from the cloth, in preparation for yet another stage in the lengthy process of making high quality Jambi batik.

  • Teens who work after school hours.
  • Teens who have dropped out of school.
  • Several house-wives who are looking for additional income.

`

`

`

`

`

Number of Employees:

  • Three people who draw or use metal stamps to put designs (motifs) on the cloth.
  • Eight people to apply wax on the cloth’s designs.
  • Six people to remove the wax from the cloth.

    Batik cloth drying before the second color of dye can be applied. This is the same cloth in the above picture that the worker is applying the design to. The end product will be a blue shirt with unique red Jambi designs.

    Batik cloth drying before the second color of dye can be applied. This is the same cloth in the above picture that the worker is applying the design to. The end product will be a blue shirt with unique red Jambi designs.

My husband and I are also involved with the dying and wax removal of the cloth, as well as packaging the finished product.

Marketing Methods

We sell our batik products via:

  • The store in our home.
  • Friends that need batik clothing.
  • Acquaintances we are familiar with from outside the area we live.
  • Customers who we’ve known since the time my parents were still living.
  • Door-to-door sales.
  • Through contacts at the national gas station office  in Jambi (SPBU).

Mission

These are just a few of the assortment of batik cloth that is on display at this home business.

These are just a few of the beautiful batik cloths that are on display at Siti Hajir’s store in her home.

  • To introduce and spread the culture that is found in Jambi batik to our entire province, nation, and world.
  • To earn an income that will bring prosperity to my family.
  • To enjoy and express myself with the art I have learned, namely, manufacturing Jambi batik.

Vision

  • I desire for my batik products to be purchased and known by people throughout the world, beginning in Indonesia.
  • I desire to start a Jambi Batik Gallery Store in every province of Indonesia.
  • I desire my customers to be completely satisfied with my products.
  • I desire my batik products to reflect the unique characteristic that portray Jambi batik, in both designs and colors.
